The Johns Hopkins Department of Materials Science and Engineering is committed to nurturing a collaborative environment. Our students have the opportunity to work in small research groups with a faculty advisor and postdoctoral researchers.

The following is a list of research groups led by faculty with a primary affiliation in our department. For faculty conducting materials-related research in other departments, please see our list of associated faculty.

For your convenience, we have also provided a list of current graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in our department.

Erlebacher Group


Falk Group

  • Led By: Prof. Michael Falk
  • Research Focus: Computational Materials Science, Structural Materials Science, and Optoelectronic & Magnetic Materials


Hall Group


Hristova Research Group

  • Led By: Prof. Kalina Hristova
  • Research Focus: Biomaterials and the Structure and Physics of Biomembranes


Hufnagel Group

  • Led By: Prof. Todd Hufnagel
  • Research Focus: Structural Materials, Nanomaterials, X-Ray Scattering, 3D Microstructures, and Metals


Katz Group

  • Led By: Prof. Howard Katz
  • Research Focus: Nanomaterials and Optoelectronic & Magnetic Materials


Mao Group

  • Led By: Prof. Hai-Quan Mao
  • Research Focus: Biomaterials and Polymer & Tissue Engineering


Mueller Group


Entropy for Energy Group

  • Led By: Assistant Prof. Corey Oses
  • Research Focus: Computational Materials Science, High-Entropy Materials, and Materials for Energy


Searson Group


Spicer Group

  • Led By: Prof. James Spicer
  • Research Focus: Materials Characterization, Laser-Materials Interactions, Materials for Energy, Structural Materials, and Optoelectronic & Magnetic Materials


Taheri Group

  • Led by: Mitra Taheri
  • Research Focus: In situ and analytical electron microscopy; structural, electronic, and magnetic materials; biomaterials, extreme environments; additive manufacturing


Weihs Group

  • Led By: Prof. Tim Weihs
  • Research Focus: Nanomaterials, Thin Films, and Structural Materials

Fall 2020

Last Name First Name Research Group
Agarwal Ojaswi Hemker
Appel Pheobe Erlebacher
Andrews Caleb Taheri
Arlington Shane Weihs
Banjeree Arunima Hemker
Baris Jodie Erlebacher
Barrie Catherine Hemker
Beaudry David Taheri
Bond Christopher Katz
Borah Preetom Weihs
Brizzolara Katherine Hemker
Chen Nan (Louise) Katz
Choy Joseph Mao
Chuang Alyssa Erlebacher
Ding Supeng Gu
Eoh Joon Gu
Eswarappa Prameela Suhas Weihs
Fan Zhao Ma
Fang Zhiwei Gu
Fajardo Spencer Falk
Fite John Weihs
Florencio Aleman Christopher Chen
Gao Qingyang Ma
Gigliotti Nicholas Taheri
Gong Tianyao Hall
Grant Jesse Weihs
Greenidge Gina Erlebacher
Guan Ming Hufnagel
Hernandez Valle Alberto Mueller
Hopkins Emily Taheri
Hunt Gabriella Spicer
Inouye Monica Weihs
Johnson Isaac Chen
Kim Joo Ho Gu
Kitchen Grant Searson
Krynicki Jenna Weihs
Lee Taein Katz
Li Chengyang Mueller
Light Taylor Hristova
Ma Jessica Spicer
Ozdemir Ece Hristova
Park Sharon Hemker
Pate Cassandra Hufnagel/Taheri
Peters Adam Spicer
Present Samuel Hemker
Qiu Chenhu Mao
Roy Tanaya Hristova
Ruan Dihui Falk
Sheng Hao Hufnagel
Small Kathryn Hufnagel/Taheri
Song Yunjia Katz
Tian Yuan Chen
Wagner Justine Katz
Wang Chuhong Mueller
Wang Yunfei Hall
Wang Yunzhe Mueller
Wirth Daniel Hristova
Wu Dung-Yi Hufnagel
Xue Ju Weihs
Yao Zhicheng Mao
Zhang Hao Hall
Zhang Yicheng Mao
Zhang Zhuoqun Hall
Zuo Yi Gu
Thibault Stephen Erlebacher

Fall 2020

Name Advisor
Liang Cao Tim Mueller
Tanmoy Chakraborty Tim Mueller
Kerri-Lee Chintersingh Tim Weihs/HEMI
Jinfeng Han Howard Katz
Xiyu Ke Hai-Quan Mao
Shan-Ping Liu Tim Mueller
Tushita Mukhopadhyaya Howard Katz
James Nathaniel Mitra Taheri
Ye Tian Todd Hufnagel
Qi Wang Hai-Quan Mao
Bin Xu Michael Falk
Kunyu Zhang Luo Gu