ChemBE External Advisory Board Member Elected to the NAE

February 8, 2018

ChemBE External Advisory Board member Eleftherios Terry Papoutsakis was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Papoutsakis is the Eugene DuPont Chair of Chemical Engineering at the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Delaware, Newark; where he is also affiliated with the Delaware Biotechnology Institute.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer, honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” Papoutsakis was elected for contributions to metabolic engineering, especially the industrial biotechnology of clostridia, and to biomanufacturing of therapeutic proteins. He, along with 82 other new members and 16 foreign members, will be inducted during NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 30, 2018.

Back to top