Two Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Summer 2018

Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau
Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau

Two Johns Hopkins University researchers have been awarded one of the highest professional distinctions for engineers: election into the National Academy of Engineering.

Jennifer Elisseeff, professor of biomedical engineering, and Charles Meneveau, professor of mechanical engineering, were among 83 new members, along with 16 foreign members, elected into the 2018 class. This brings U.S. membership to 2,293 and the number of foreign members to 262.

According to the academy, becoming a member “honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Elisseeff is the Morton F. Goldberg Professor of Ophthalmology and directs the Translational Tissue Engineering Center in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Wilmer Eye Institute. She has appointments in chemical and biomolecular engineering, materials science, and orthopaedic surgery. She was chosen for her work in the development and commercial translation of injectable biomaterials for regenerative therapies.

“I am very honored to be a part of the NAE and grateful for all of my students, fellows, and collaborators and the science we do together,” Elisseeff says. “Most important, I look forward to contributing to the service that NAE provides to the nation.”

Meneveau, who is the Louis M. Sardella Professor in Mechanical Engineering and holds a joint appointment in the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering, was honored for his contributions to turbulence small-scale dynamics, large-eddy simulations, and wind farm fluid dynamics, and for leadership in the fluid dynamics community.

The new class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the group’s annual meeting in September in Washington, D.C.