Faculty Scholars Program Honors Exceptional Faculty

Winter 2010

To support some of the Whiting School’s most talented researchers and teachers, the Faculty Scholars program was initiated in 2006. Funded through generous gifts, faculty members hold a prestigious, named Faculty Scholar appointment for a three-year term, and receive financial support to promote innovative research, teaching activities, and entrepreneurial thinking. To date, six alumni have established Faculty Scholar funds.

William R. Brody Faculty Scholar Holder: Natalia Trayanova, Biomedical Engineering
Established by: Robert A. Seder ’81 (A&S), University Trustee, and Deborah L. Harmon ’81 (A&S) L.

Gordon Croft Investment Management Faculty Scholar Holder: Jonah Erlebacher, Materials Science and Engineering
Established by: L. Gordon Croft ’56

Gilbert Decker Faculty Scholar Holder: Allison Okamura, Mechanical Engineering
Established by: Gilbert F. Decker ’58

Masson-Agarwal Faculty Scholar Holder: Konstantinos Konstantopoulos, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Established by: Vinod K. Agarwal ’77

Louis M. Sardella Faculty Scholar Holder: Louis Whitcomb, Mechanical Engineering
Established by: Louis M. Sardella ’69

Swirnow Family Faculty Scholar Holder: Benjamin Schafer, Civil Engineering
Established by: Rachel M. & Richard A. Swirnow ’55