Student Groups

  • The Johns Hopkins student chapter of Society for Biomaterials is a multidisciplinary student club established in 2013 by students from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. Our society focuses on the promotion of biomaterials research, and the advancement of education and awareness of biomedical and biomaterials sciences through organizing field trips, research seminars, networking and social events. We welcome students from any departments for membership; in fact, we have graduate and undergraduate members from several departments of the school of engineering, and the school of arts and sciences. 

    Advisor: Hai-Quan Mao – hmao@jhu.edu

    President: Michael Lan – mlan4@jhu.edu
    Vice President: Bruce Enzmann – benzman1@jhu.edu
    Vice President: Anson Zhou – azhou13@jhu.edu
    Administrative Chair: Siddharth Iyer – siyer18@jhu.edu
    Treasurer: Jason Yin – jyin24@jhu.edu
    Outreach Chair: Jasmine Hu – xhu39@jhu.edu
    Outreach Chair: Justin Zhou – jzhou82@jhu.edu
    Membership Chair: Stephen Li – sli123@jhu.edu
    Campus Engagement Chair: Eric Lin elin28@jhu.edu

  • At MRS, we try to engage undergraduates in the Materials Science & Engineering department to be more aware of available research and job opportunities and otherwise facilitate interactions between students and professionals in industry and academia.

    Advisors: Howard Katz (hekatz@jhu.edu), Patty McGuiggan (mcguiggan@jhu.edu) and Orla Wilson (owilson@jhu.edu)

    President – Joanna Maressa (jmaress1@jhu.edu)

    Vice President – Jenna Carton (jcarto2@jhu.edu)

    Treasurer – Ben Rickey (brickey1@jhu.edu)

    Communications Specialist – Matt Lee (mlee228@jhu.edu)

     

  • The mission of the Materials Graduate Society (MGS) is to focus on the
    advancement of materials scientists and researchers at the graduate and post-graduate
    level. Through professional and social development events, our graduate student
    organization will strive to improve department camaraderie, academic excellence, and
    professional advancement for future scientists. The MGS aims to not only build lifelong friendships but a solid professional
    network, along with the opportunity for those involved to expand their communication,
    social, and networking skills for the workforce upon graduation.

    To learn more Click Here

 

 

Back to top