Faculty researchers in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering are among the recipients of the inaugural Johns Hopkins Discovery Awards. Prof. Hai-Quan Mao, Dr. Patricia McGuiggan, and Prof. Peter Searson will join cross-divisional research teams to fuel important discoveries and solve global challenges.

The following research projects will be supported through this awards program:

  • Engineering Artificial Lymph Nodes for Cancer Immunotherapy
    • Collaborators: Hai-Quan Mao (Whiting School of Engineering) and Jonathan Schneck (School of Medicine)
  • Nanoparticle-based Therapeutic Strategy to Target an RNA-binding Protein Termed TDP-43 in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
    • Collaborators: Hai-Quan Mao (Whiting School of Engineering) and Philip Wong (School of Medicine)
  • Reverse Engineering Ancient Ceramics
    • Collaborators: Patricia McGuiggan (Whiting School of Engineering) and Sanchita Balachandran (Krieger School of Arts & Sciences)
  • Human Performance: Role of Acute Exercise in Enhancing Cognitive Function
    • Collaborators: Peter Searson (Whiting School of Engineering), Howard Egeth (Krieger School of Arts & Sciences), and Kerry Stewart (School of Medicine)

The Discovery Awards program is part of a $15 million commitment to cross-university, faculty-led research over three years. The full list of recipients and their projects is available on the Office of the Provost website.

Related Reading