Congratulations to the following students who were honored at the annual WSE Convocation Awards Ceremony!

This event is a celebration of student and faculty achievement at the Whiting School of Engineering.

American Society of Civil Engineers Maryland Section Scholarship
Recipient: Awoenam Mauna-Woanya

The ASCE Maryland Section Scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate member of Johns Hopkins’ ASCE Student Chapter for his or her outstanding academic merits as a student in the Department of Civil Engineering.


Civil Engineering Achievement Award
Recipients: Harrison Folk and Kyle Shannahan

The Civil Engineering Achievement Award recognizes outstanding academic achievement by graduating seniors in the Department of Civil Engineering.


Civil Engineering Faculty Recognition Award
Recipients: Karl Ehlert and Erin Todaro

The Civil Engineering faculty recognize that some students excel in the classroom while also actively participating in leadership and service opportunities in the broader community. We are proud to have these students represent the Department of Civil Engineering.



Robert H. Scanlan Award
Recipient: Michael Kearns

Robert H. Scanlan was a tireless researcher who made scholarly contributions to both theory and practice in the fields of engineering mechanics, aerodynamics, and the aeroelasticity of civil engineering structures. Dr. Scanlan worked in both the private and public sectors, abroad and in the U.S., as well as in academia. In 1984, at age 70, after a full career at Princeton, he joined the Johns Hopkins faculty. He remained an active member of the faculty at Johns Hopkins, aiding the Department of Civil Engineering and its faculty, staff, and students, until his passing in 2001. Dr. Scanlan brought an indefatigable spirit to his work and made indelible contributions to wind engineering and to the study of bridge aerodynamics—topics that are critical to structural engineering practice. This award is presented to a student who demonstrates an interest in making connections between engineering research and practice.

Gerard H. Schlimm Award
Recipient: Rachel Neiman

The Gerard H. Schlimm Award is given to an undergraduate student for exceptional accomplishments in the field of civil engineering. As a longtime Senior Lecturer and Director of the Part-Time and Special Programs at the Whiting School from 1966 to 1994, the late Dr. Schlimm made many contributions to the education of future engineers.