Tim Weihs Delivers Exhibition Keynote Lecture at ICMCTF

May 5, 2014

Copyright 2010 by Marty KatzDr. Tim Weihs, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, delivered the Exhibition Keynote Lecture at the International Conference on International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF) in San Diego, California.

Dr. Weihs’ lecture, which was titled Driving Commercial Applications and Exploring Scientific Questions with Reactive Multilayer Foils, described multiple applications for reactive multilayer foils. Additionally, novel in situ experiments that explore the rapid formation reactions within the reactive multilayer structures were described.

Timothy P. Weihs is a Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University where his research focuses on reactive multilayer foils and their application as local heat sources and the mechanical properties of structural materials and biomaterials. His formal education includes a BA degree from Dartmouth College, an ME degree from Thayer School of Engineering, and a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from Stanford University. Following a NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Department of Materials at Oxford University and a second postdoctoral position in the Chemistry and Materials Science Department at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), he joined the faculty in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins University. In 2002, Professor Weihs took a three-year leave of absence from Johns Hopkins University and Co-founded Reactive NanoTechnologies (RNT). After growing the company to the point of first commercial sales as CEO, Professor Weihs returned to active duty at Hopkins to focus on the research areas noted above. However, he remains an active consultant for Indium Corporation that purchased and now produces the NanoFoil® product. His awards include an NSF Career Award, a 3M Young Faculty Fellowship, an R&D 100 Award, an Innovator of the Year Award, and the TMS Application to Practice Award.

Back to top