The Whiting School of Engineering has named Ashutosh Dutta, chief 5G strategist at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory and an IEEE Fellow, as the director of the Doctor of Engineering Program, effective December 1.

Established in 2018, the Doctor of Engineering program provides professional engineers with the advanced technical expertise and research experience they need to succeed in industry and the public sector by emphasizing creative problem-solving and the innovative application of technical knowledge. The program is specifically targeted to working professionals and takes the form of a research collaboration between a student’s employer and the Whiting School.

“I am honored to be named the new director of the Doctor of Engineering program,” said Dutta. “I am excited to take this new challenge, and look forward to collaborating with the university, APL. government, and industry partners to continue creating a learning environment that accommodates the unique needs of working professionals seeking to enhance their engineering expertise.”

In his new role. Dutta will focus on growing the program by increasing the number of APL staff members and JHU faculty serving as program advisers. establishing new partnerships with industry and government to increase corporate engagement and research collaboration, and growing annual enrollment by enhancing the resources available to prospective applicants.

Until recently, Dutta served as the program chair for electrical and computer engineering in JHU’s Engineering for Professionals program. As the chair of that program, he managed part-time faculty and approximately 1,000 students while leading curriculum development. Under his leadership, the Engineering for Professionals electrical and computer engineering program was ranked number four for best online master’s in electrical engineering programs by U.S. News and World Report. Dutta also continues to serve as an associate research professor in the Whiting School’s Institute for Assured Autonomy and Lawrence Hafstad Sabbatical Fellow at in the Department of Computer Science.