All posts by afoste16

Ke-Yao won 1st prize in the SPIE Student Poster Competition in Optics and Photonics.

The National Capital Section and the IEEE Photonics Society jointly sponsored a poster competition at the University of Maryland. Winners of the poster competition were invited to exhibit their posters at the May meeting. Winners of the competition were:Ke-Yao Wang, “On-chip silicon-based widely-tunable optical parametric amplification (OPA) and optical parametric oscillation (OPO) for use at telecommunications wavelengths and beyond” JHU. (Prof. Amy Foster)First Prize.Keith Petrillo, “Full 160-Gb/s OTDM to 16×10-Gb/s WDM conversion with a single nonlinear interaction”, JHU. (Prof. Mark Foster) Second Prize Tie.Yi Yang, “Experimental Demonstration of Coherent OCDMA using Heterodyne Detection”,.JHU (Prof. A. Brinton Cooper) Second Place Tie.

2013 UMD poster competition
2013 UMD poster competition

Congratulations to Prof. Amy Foster for winning the 2012 DARPA Young Faculty Award

Dr. Amy Foster is the recipient of the 2012 DARPA Young Faculty Award.  She was awarded for her tremendous effort and work in the field of Photonics and Lasers.  Her most recent article titled “Three-dimensional Integraion of CMOS-compatible Nonlinear Photonic Circuits aided in her receiving the distiguished award from DARPA.