Contact Information

Call: 410-516-0977

Email: vpatel36@jhu.edu

Dr. Vishal M Patel

Assistant Professor

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
Johns Hopkins University

Biography

Vishal M. Patel is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Johns Hopkins University. Prior to joining Hopkins, he was an A. Walter Tyson Assistant Professor in the Department of ECE at Rutgers University and a member of the research faculty at the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS). He completed his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park, MD, in 2010. He has received a number of awards including the 2016 ONR Young Investigator Award, the 2016 Jimmy Lin Award for Invention, A. Walter Tyson Assistant Professorship Award, Best Paper Award at IEEE AVSS 2017, Best Paper Award at IEEE BTAS 2015, Honorable Mention Paper Award at IAPR ICB 2018, two Best Student Paper Awards at IAPR ICPR 2018, and Best Poster Awards at BTAS 2015 and 2016. He is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, IEEE Biometrics Compendium, and serves on the Information Forensics and Security Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He is a member of Eta Kappa Nu, Pi Mu Epsilon, and Phi Beta Kappa.

PhD Students

Lidan Wang

Email: lidanwang@jhu.edu

Xing Di

Email: xing.di@jhu.edu

Rajeev Yasarla

Email: ryasarl1@jhu.edu

Poojan Oza

Email: poza2@jhu.edu

Vishwanath Sindagi

Email: vishwanathsindagi@jhu.edu

Pramuditha Perera

Email: pperera3@jhu.edu

Mahdi Abavisani

Email: mahdi.abavisani@rutgers.edu

Puyang Wang

Email: pwang47@jhu.edu

Jeya Maria Jose

Email: jeyamariajose7@gmail.com

Yashasvi Baweja

Email: yashasvi15116@iiitd.ac.in

Shao-Yuan Lo

Email: sylo@jhu.edu

Alumni

He Zhang

Email: he.zhang92@rutgers.edu

Shaogong Wang

Email: iamwsg@gmail.com

Visiting Students

Hajime Nada

Email: nada.hajime@jp.fujitsu.com

Ester Gonzalez-Sosa

Email: esterglezs@gmail.com

Zinelabidine Boulkenafet

Email: zboulkenafet@gmail.com