Jennifer Elisseeff elected to the National Academy of Medicine

October 15, 2018

Jennifer ElisseeffJennifer Elisseeff, professor of biomedical engineering, is one of six Johns Hopkins University faculty members elected to the National Academy of Medicine, an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health, medicine, and the natural, social, and behavioral sciences.

The NAM serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as adviser for the nation and the international community. Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy.

Membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine.

New members are elected by current members through a selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Elisseeff was selected “for significant achievements in regenerative medicine therapies and contributions to regenerative immunology.” She is the Morton F. Goldberg Professor of Ophthalmology and directs the Translational Tissue Engineering Center in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Wilmer Eye Institute. She has appointments in chemical and biomolecular engineeringmaterials science, and orthopaedic surgery.

Adapted from The Hub. Click here to read the full list of JHU faculty members elected to NAM.


Back to top