Skip to main content

New leadership for JHU’s Institute for NanoBioTechnology

September 23, 2016
Photo of Sharon Gerecht and Hai-Quan Mao

Sharon Gerecht (left) and Hai-Quan Mao (Image: Will Kirk/Homewood Photography and Marty Katz)

Professors Sharon Gerecht and Hai-Quan Mao will assume leadership duties for Johns Hopkins University’s Institute for NanoBioTechnology, effective Jan. 1, 2017.

Gerecht, a professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, will serve as the institute’s director. Her research focuses on stem cells and their microenvironment, especially as applied to tissue repair and regeneration. She was the winner of the inaugural President’s Frontier Award in 2015 and will succeed Peter Searson, INBT’s founding director.

Mao is a professor in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, and currently holds a joint appointment in the Translational Tissue Engineering Center at the School of Medicine. He will serve as INBT’s associate director, succeeding Denis Wirtz, JHU’s vice provost for research. Mao’s research is focused on engineering novel nanostructured materials for nerve regeneration and therapeutic delivery. He won the University’s 2015 Cohen Translational Engineering Award and a 2016 Johns Hopkins Discovery Award.

“Both Sharon and Hai-Quan embrace INBT’s original vision, which seeks to bring together researchers from diverse disciplines to solve problems at the interface of nanotechnology and medicine,” Searson said. “Their contributions to multidisciplinary research, commitment to technology transfer, and vision in educating the next generation of leaders in nanobiotechnology made Sharon and Hai-Quan ideal candidates for the job.”

Excerpted from The Hub.

Back to top