“Rising Research Stars” Honored by DARPA

August 11, 2012

Jaafar El-Awady, assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and Amy Foster, assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, have been awarded the 2012 DARPA Young Faculty Award.


ECE’s Amy Foster’s research involves the design. optimization and application of nanofabricated photonic devices for both linear and nonlinear optical interactions.

El-Awady was recognized in the area of Predictive Materials Science for his work in Micro-Mechanics Modeling of Surface Roughness Evolution.

Fosters’s award was in the area of Photonics and Lasers, for her work in Three-dimensional Integration of CMOS-compatible Nonlinear Photonic Circuits.

The purpose of the DARPA Young Faculty Award program is to “identify and engage rising research stars in junior faculty positions at U.S. academic institutions and expose them to Department of Defense needs as well as DARPA’s program development process.” The program provides these faculty with funding, mentoring and DoD contacts in order to develop the next generation of academic scientists, engineers and mathematicians who will focus their careers on DoD and national security issues.

Related Links
Back to top