Skip to main content


To view more alumni events, click here.

2015 Convocation Awards Ceremony and Harriet Shriver Rogers Lecture
May 4 @ 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm

The Whiting School of Engineering’s 2015 Convocation Awards Ceremony and Harriet Shriver Rogers Lecture will be held at 3 p.m. on Monday, May 4 in Shriver Hall Auditorium on Johns Hopkins University’s Homewood campus.

Natalie GivansNatalie Givans ’89, senior vice president at Virginia-based Booz Allen Hamilton, will deliver the Harriet Shriver Rogers lecture titled ” “Engineering Global Impact Starts With Great Communications”.



Emergency Zika Design Challenge: Preventing Mosquito Bites
Apr 7 @ 5:00 pm – Apr 10 @ 3:00 pm

CBID- Jhpiego Zika Emergency Design Challenge Poster FINAL March 28[1]An “Emergency Zika Design Challenge: Preventing Mosquito Bites” event will be held from Thursday, April 7 through Saturday, April 9 in the BME Design Studio in Clark Hall on the Johns Hopkins Homewood campus. The event is a project of the Department of  Biomedical Engineering, the Center for Bioengineering Innovation and Design, and Jhpiego. Registration required.

Click on the poster to the left for details of each day’s activities, and who should consider attending.

James West to present Inaugural Professorial Lecture on September 15
Sep 15 @ 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Photo of James WestJames West, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Whiting School of Engineering, will deliver his Inaugural Professorial Lecture from 3 to 5 p.m. on Thursday, September 15, in the Mason Hall Auditorium on the Homewood campus.

In a lecture titled “Electret and Piezoelectric Polymer Transducers,” West will discuss the research impact of inexpensive condenser microphones on multiple microphone arrays and current medical device applications. He will also present recent research on push-pull electret transducers with a very low resonance for energy harvesting, as well as new biopolymer-based piezoelectric nanofibers.

The lecture is part of the Don P. Giddens Inaugural Professorial Lecture series, established in 1993 to honor newly promoted full professors. It is named for the fifth dean of the Whiting School of Engineering.

Back to top