Named Lectures Series

Named Lectures Series

The Stanley Corrsin Memorial Lecture in Fluid Mechanics

PAST LECTURERS: DR. Shelley L. Anna (Carnegie Mellon), Dr. Juan Santiago (Stanford), Dr. Cullen R. Buie (M.I.T.), DR. mICHAEL bRENNER (hARVARD), DR. sTEPHEN qUAKE (sTANFORD), DR. sANDRA m. tROIAN (cAL. tECH.), Dr. Juan J. de Pablo (Wisconsin), Dr. Eric R. Weeks (Emory), Dr. Charles Meneveau (Hopkins), Dr. Martin Bazant (M.I.T.), Dr. Todd Squires (U.C.S.B.).

Professor Stanley Corrsin completed his undergraduate work at the University of Pennsylvania and received his Ph.D. in aeronautics at the California Institute of Technology. He was the first graduate student of Hans Liepmann, a pioneer in fluid mechanics. Professor Corrsin joined the Johns Hopkins aeronautics department in 1947 and was affiliated with the Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanics, and Mechanics and Materials Science. He served as department chair of mechanical engineering from 1955 to 1960. In 1979, he helped found the Department of Chemical Engineering. In 1981, he was appointed to the Theophilus Halley Smoot Chair of Engineering at Johns Hopkins.

Professor Corrsin was an American Academy of Engineering Fellow and received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Pennsylvania. He was also awarded the von Karman Medal of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Though he received many honors as a researcher, he always preferred the title “Professor of Fluid Mechanics.”

His death in 1986 prompted the initiation of the Stanley Corrsin Lecture in Fluid Mechanics. The Lecture series is made possible by the Stanley Corrsin Fund, established at Johns Hopkins by friends and former students of Professor Corrsin.


The 2018 Stanley Corrsin Memorial Lecture in Fluid Mechanics:

Aleksandr Noy

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

“Nanofluidics in Carbon Nanotube Porins”

3:30 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018

Room 3, Shaffer Hall

Reception at 3 p.m.


The John C. and Florence W. Holtz Lecture

pAST LECTURERS: Dr. Kristi Anseth (University of Colorado, Boulder), Dr. Michael Shulker (Cornell), Dr. John H. Seinfeld (Cal. Tech.), Dr. Carol K. Hall (N.C. State), Dr. George Georgiou (U. Texas, Austin), Dr. Joanna Aizenberg (Harvard), Dr. Mark Davis (Cal. Tech.).

Dr. Holtz started his Government career in 1934 as a Junior Chemist in the Navy Department and transferred to the bureau of mines as Associate Gas Engineer on December 1, 1936.  Because of his capabilities, Bureau assignments were varied with increasing responsibilities.  Starting with research on gaseous products from explosives, he also organized, directed and worked with other Bureau scientists conducting pioneering research on diesel exhaust products.  This work led to the establishment of the present Bureau of Mines Schedules 22, 24 and 31 for diesel mine locomotives, mobile-diesel-powered equipment for non-coal mines, and mobile-diesel-powered equipment for gassy non-coal mines and tunnels.

Dr. Holtz’s publication of Bureau of Mines R.I. 5616, “Safety with Mobile-Diesel-Powered Equipment Underground” is used internationally as a basic reference for diesel performance and operational characteristics in mines and tunnels.  His experience with explosives was utilized during World War II in the conduct of a variety of research projects on explosives and propellant systems.  Following the war, he assumed additional administrative responsibilities at the Bureau of Mines installation in Grand Forks, North Dakota; Morgantown, West Virginia, and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

For his eminent career in Bureau of Mines and his outstanding achievement in the field of safety with diesel-powered equipment, Dr. Holtz was granted the highest award of the Department of the Interior, its Distinguished Service Award, on June 8, 1967.


The 2018 John C. and Florence W. Holtz Lecture


Jack W. Szostak

Nobel Laureate

Harvard University


3:30 p.m. Thursday, April 26, 2018

Room 110, Hodson Hall


The William H. Schwarz Lecture

PAST LECTURERS: Dr. Nicholas Abbott, Dr. Jeff Hubbell (University of Chicago), Dr. Denis Wirtz (Hopkins), Dr. Ralph G. Nuzzo (U. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Dr. Michael Betenbaugh (Hopkins), Dr. Matt Tirrell (U. Chicago), Dr. William Wagner (U. Pittsburgh), Dr. Terry Papoutsakis (U. Delaware).

Dr. Schwarz attended the Johns Hopkins University, where he earned a bachelors, masters and doctoral degree in 1951, 1955, and 1957 in chemical engineering. As an undergraduate, he starred on the Hopkins football team as a defensive end and later served as line coach while continuing graduate studies.

For his doctoral work, Dr. Schwarz studied with the late Stanley Corrsin, one of the leading turbulence experts of his generation. After receiving his Ph.D., Schwarz went to Stanford University, where his 1963 article, co-authored with Carl Gibson, is considered a landmark in the field. In 1968, Dr. Schwarz returned to Johns Hopkins to join Stan Corrsin after having been promoted to professor of mechanics.

At Hopkins, the interdisciplinary nature of the then-Department of Mechanics provided fertile ground for Schwarz’s other research interests, including acoustics, the mechanics of swallowing, biophysics, and bacteria that cause drag when they attach to sea vessels. In 1977, Schwarz developed a plan for reestablishing chemical engineering at Hopkins and served as the re-established department’s chair from 1979-1981.

Schwarz also loved sailing and skippered his boat, Good Times, to victory in a division of the 1993 Governor’s Cup yacht. The legacy of Bill Schwarz lives on through his students who have gone on to lead successful careers.


The 2018 William H. Schwarz Lecture

“Amine-Modified Silicates as CO2 Sorbents that Enable Direct Air Capture Technologies”

Christopher Jones

Love Family Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Georgia Tech

In this lecture, I will describe the design and synthesis, characterization and application of new aminosilica materials that we have developed as cornerstones of new technologies for the removal of CO2 from dilute gas streams. These chemisorbents efficiently remove CO2 from simulated flue gas streams, and the CO2 capacities are actually enhanced by the presence of water, unlike in the case of physisorbents such as zeolites. Interestingly, the heat of adsorption for these sorbents is sufficiently high that the sorbents are also capable of capturing CO2 from extremely dilute gas streams, such as the ambient air. Indeed, our oxide-supported amine adsorbents are quite efficient at the direct “air capture” of CO2 and we will describe our investigations into development of “air capture” technologies as well. Air capture systems offer one of the few scalable options that could be deployed as a negative carbon technology, actually reducing the amount of CO2 in the atmosphere, potentially allowing the slow reversal of climate change.

Since joining Georgia Tech, Dr. Jones has been recognized with a number of awards for his research and teaching. The American Chemical Society recognized his catalysis research with the Ipatieff Prize in 2010, followed by the North American Catalysis Society with the Paul H. Emmett Award in Fundamental Catalysis in 2013. In 2016, he was recognized by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers for his work in catalysis and CO2 capture with the Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress. Dr. Jones is the founding Editor-in-Chief of the new journal, ACS Catalysis, which was recognized with the 2012 Prose Award as the Best New Journal in Science, Technology or Medicine, by the American Association of Publishers. He is Vice-President of the North American Catalysis Society.

3:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22, 2018

Room 110, Hodson Hall


Back to top