WSE National Advisory Council

The Whiting School National Advisory Council (NAC) members bring important insights and expertise to assist the School in reviewing critical issues.  The NAC’s mission is to:

  • Provide candid and constructive advice, based on insights and expertise, on issues critical to the success of the Whiting School of Engineering.
  • Serve as an advocacy arm of the School of Engineering to industry and government, informing them of educational and research opportunities.
  • Increase the School’s resources and support.
  • Promote the Whiting School’s efforts to Hopkins constituents, such as the Board of Trustees, alumni, and officers.

Members will serve a three-year term, which is renewable.

  • Members will be asked to attend two Council meetings each year.
  • Members will be called upon by the Dean outside of the Council meetings to respond to ideas and issues relating to the Whiting School of Engineering.
  • Members will be asked to help increase the School’s financial resources and expand its base of charitable support.

Two general meetings of the NAC will be held each year.  One meeting will be held in the fall in conjunction with, whenever possible, meetings of the Johns Hopkins Alumni Council and other leadership groups.  The second meeting will be held in the spring.  All meetings are presided over by the council Chair, appointed by the Dean.  There are several Standing committees and Ad Hoc committees are formed when needed.

Finance Committee

  • With the Vice Dean for Finance, provide advice and counsel on the School’s financial position and assist with future planning.

Strategic Planning Committee

  • Working closely with the Dean, review the progress of the School’s strategic plan to monitor achievement and implementation of goals.  Review and provide counsel on new strategic plans and initiatives, as appropriate.

Executive Committee

  • Comprised of the chairs of each standing committee, the NAC chair, and a member-at-large, works with the Dean to plan NAC meetings and discuss priorities.


Archive: NAC News


  • William R. Bowles ’60
    Executive, IBM (Retired)

    Louis M. Brown, Jr. ’65
    Vice Chairman & Founder, Micros Systems, Inc.

    Ms. Chaomei Chen ’88
    Chief Risk Officer, Lending Club

    Neil L. Cohen ’83
    Co-Founder & President, Emerald Development Managers LP

    George C. Creel ’55
    Executive Vice President, Baltimore Gas and Electric (Retired)

    Matthew Daimler ’99 B.S
    Founder, Seat Guru
    Director, Zillow

    Gilbert F. Decker ’58
    Executive Vice President of Engineering & Production, Walt Disney Imagineering (Retired)

    Kenneth W. DeFontes, Jr.
    President and CEO, Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.

    Janet DiPietro, PhD
    Associate Dean for Research, Professor, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health
    Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

    Lynn L. Elsenhans
    Retired CEO, Sunoco
    Executive, Shell International

    Bahaa W. Fam ’79, MS ’80
    Senior Advisor, MITRE Corporation

    Natalie M. Givans, MS ’89
    Senior Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton

    Charles Goldstein MS ’68, PhD
    Vice President-Research, Becton Dickinson and Company

    Ronald L. Gue ’60, PhD ’64
    Chairman, Phoenix Health Systems, Inc.

    Roger J. Hajjar, MD ’86
    Arthur Janet Ross Professor of Medicine & Director of Cardiovascular Research Center
    Mount Sinai School of Medicine

    F. Suzanne Jenniches MS ’79
    Government Systems Division, Northrop Grumman Corporation (Retired)

    Landon King, MD
    Vice Dean for Research, David Marine Professor of Medicine, Director, Pulmonary and
    Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

    Jerry A. Krill, PhD
    Assistant Director, Science & Technology/CTO
    Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

    Gilbert V. Levin ’47, MS ’48, PhD ’63
    Adjunct Professor, Beyond Center, Arizona State University
    Founder and Director, Spherix Inc.

    Kwok-Leung Li ’79
    University Trustee
    President and CEO, Riorey, Inc.

    F. Pierce Linaweaver ’55, PhD ’65
    University Trustee Emeritus
    Consulting Environmental and Civil Engineer (Retired)

    Maria Maroulis ’96, MS ’01
    Former University Young Trustee
    Business Manager, Dentoaveolar Surgery, Synthes USA

    Aristides Melissaratos ’66
    Senior Advisor to the President for Enterprise Development, Johns Hopkins University

    Terry F. Neimeyer MS ’80
    CEO and Chairman, KCI Technologies

    Nicholas Paraskevopoulos, Ph.D.
    Vice President of Engineering, Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems

    George D. Pillari ’84
    Managing Director, Alvarez & Marshal Healthcare Industry Group

    Krishnan Rajagopalan ’82, MS ’83
    Managing Partner, Heidrick & Struggles

    Joseph R. Reynolds, Jr. ’69
    University Trustee
    President and CEO, RTI Group, LLC

    Marshal L. Salant ’80
    University Trustee
    Head of Alternative Energy Finance, Citigroup

    Michael G. Stolarik ’73
    President and COO, QinetiQ North America (Retired)

    William J. Stromberg ’83
    Vice President and Director of Global Equity and Global Equity Research, T. Rowe Price

    William F. Ward, Jr. ’67
    University Trustee
    President and CEO, Ward Machinery (Retired)

    W. Daniel White ’74
    Senior Vice President, The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

    Jun Wu, MS ’98, PhD ’03
    Staff Research Scientist, Google

  • Harvey D. Kushner ’51
    President, Kushner Management Planning Corporation

    Mark E. Rubenstein ’62, MS ’65
    University Trustee
    Chairman, Rubenstein Company


Back to top