2014 Siebel Scholarship Recipients

September 23, 2013
Siebel Scholars 2014

Johns Hopkins 2014 Siebel Scholars (left to right): Tushar Rane, Stephany Tzeng, Sravanti Kusuma, Sahar Soleimandifard, Jiefeng Xi.

Five Johns Hopkins doctoral students have been named to the 2014 class of Siebel Scholars. Selected for their research skills, academic achievements and leadership qualities, the PhD candidates are conducting a wide range of research such as trying to turn stem cells into healthy blood vessel and testing biological reactions within microscopic droplets.

The merit-based Siebel program provides $35,000 to each student for use in his or her final year of graduate studies. Four of the five Johns Hopkins 2014 Siebel Scholars are pursuing degrees in the Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME); the other student is studying in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE).

“It’s an honor that the Siebel Foundation has, once again, decided to name five of our most promising graduate students as scholars in their vibrant community of talented future leaders,” says Andrew Douglas, interim dean of the Whiting School of Engineering.

The recipients were among 85 students selected from prominent graduate schools worldwide.  Founded in 2000, the Siebel Scholars program recognizes the most talented students at leading graduate schools of business, computer science and bioengineering. Today, 870 Siebel Scholars are active in the program. For more on the Johns Hopkins 2014 class of Siebel Scholars:

Back to top